University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

The Management Alumni Excellence (MAX) Award

Submitted by yayoi.moriguchi on Sat, 03/21/2015 - 12:49pm

The Management Alumni Excellence (MAX) Award

The Management Alumni Excellence (MAX) Award was established in 2000 and recognizes the outstanding success of Haskayne School of Business alumni. The award is intended to celebrate personal achievement and extraordinary service to the Business School and to the community. Of the nearly 22,000 Haskayne grads in 70 countries around the world, 15 distinguished alumni have now received the Management Alumni Excellence (MAX) Award.

The University of Calgary Alumni Association's Arch Awards program has been recognizing and celebrating the outstanding achievements of University of Calgary alumni since 1985. In 2015 the program was restructured and a number of changes were made, most notably the addition of the Alumni Achievement Awards, the discontinuation of the Graduate of the Last Decade (GOLD) Award and the Future Alumni Award, and the inclusion of faculty based awards. 

The Arch Awards are presented annually and the event has historically been held on a Thursday evening in mid-November. The event features a cocktail reception and a formal presentation of the Distinguished Alumna/Alumnus Award, the Alumni Achievement Award (up to 5 achievement awards may be presented in a given year) and two faculty-based awards – the Haskayne School of Business Management Alumni Excellence (MAX) Award and the Cumming School of Medicine Alumni of Distinction Award.

2015 MAX Award Recipient Curtis Probst

2015 MAX Award Recipient Curtis Probst

 Haskayne School of Business alumnus Curtis Probst knows that maintaining a UCalgary connection after graduation is a "win-win"

 Former investment banker turned not-for-profit executive Curtis Probst, who is based in New York, says attending the Haskayne School of Business was “probably the best return on investment I’ve ever achieved.” 

 “The Haskayne School of Business gave me an incredible set of skills that served me well in my finance career” which has included putting together over $50-billion worth of deals.  It also gave Probst access a diverse community of UCalgary alumni.

 “Calgary grads would probably be surprised to know that there are hundreds of alumni living in the New York area,” he says. “Many are doing amazing things in industry, government, academia or not-for-profit organizations.” Probst, a constant presence and big supporter of alumni events in New York, serves as a member of UCalgary International’s U.S. Regional Advisory Council.

 Reminding alumni around the world that it’s important to stay in touch.

 “Whether people stay connected for professional or personal networking, or are driven by a desire to give back to the community, maintaining a close relationship with the university is truly a win-win proposition,” he says.

 As well as giving generously of his time, he has also made many financial gifts to the university including his support of the Mary & Ray Probst Memorial Bursary, the Dr. Bob Schulz Business Competition Sustainability Endowment and the N. Murray Edwards Finance and Trading Lab.

 While Probst has given much to the school, he is very appreciative of all that the university has offered to him over the years. “Personally,” he says, “I think I got the better end of the deal.”

The Management Alumni Excellence Award is given by the Haskayne School of Business.

Nominate a Future MAX Recipient

Description of Management Alumni Excellence (MAX) Award

The Management Alumni Excellence (MAX) Award recognizes individual excellence in the areas of school support, community involvement and business success. In addition, the award winner embraces the Haskayne School of Business values: Leadership, commitment, excellence, integrity and dedication.

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

  • The nominee must be an alumni of the Haskayne School of Business.
  • The nominee must have demonstrated service to the Haskayne School of Business. (examples: student leadership, mentoring of students or a gift of time, treasure or talent in any capacity)
  • The nominee embraces and demonstrates the values of leadership, commitment, excellence, integrity and dedication.
  • The nominee is seen as an advocate of higher education and in particular, business studies.
  • The nominee must have positively influenced the lives of others.
  • The nominee must have made significant contributions to his or her profession/industry.
  • The candidate selected to receive the award must attend the presentation ceremony (late November), except in rare circumstances (posthumous award, unexpected illness or emergency)

All Haskayne School of Business Alumni are eligible for the MAX Award, regardless of where they are living or which industry they are involved with.

Important Dates

  • The committee will accept nominations continuously throughout the year.
  • Completed nomination packages must be received by June 30 of the year of the award (nominations received after this date will be considered for the following two years).

Click here to fill out and submit the MAX Award Nomination Form

Previous MAX Recipients


Curtis Probst, BComm’89 

Managing Director, RMI 


Glen Schmidt, MBA’94

President and CEO of Calgary-based Laricina Energy Ltd.


Thomas Buchanan, BComm’79

CEO and Director, Spyglass Resources Corp


Helen Wesley, BComm ‘91

Executive Vice President, Talisman 


Eva Friesen, MBA’00

President and CEO, The Calgary Foundation 


Mike Shaikh, FCA, BComm’77

Chair, Calgary Police Commission


George Gosbee, BComm’93

President & CEO AltaCorp Capital Inc., Founder Tristone Capital


Russell K. Girling, BComm’85, MBA‘91

President, Pipelines, TransCanada Corporation


Kenneth R. McKinnon, BComm ‘80

VP Legal Affairs and General Counsel, Critical Mass Inc.

Partner, Sundog Eyewear


David W. Byler, BComm ‘78

Executive VP, Natural Gas & Renewable Energy, Suncor Energy Inc. (retired)


Brian J. Bass, BA, BComm

Member of the University Board of Governors, Senate & Alumni Association (retired)


Lesley M.E. Conway, MBA ‘89

President, Hopewell Residential Communities


W. Brett Wilson, MBA ‘85

Chairman, Prairie Merchant Corporation, Co-Founder First Energy Capital 


Hal Kvisle, MBA ‘82

President & CEO, TransCanada Pipelines Limited (retired)


Charles (Charlie) W. Fischer, BSc ’72, MBA ‘82

President & CEO, Nexen Inc. (retired)


Michael J. Tims, BComm ’76, MBA ’78 (Harvard)

Co-Chairman, Peters & Co. Limited

Contact us

If you have any questions or inquiries about the MAX Award, and sponsorship opportunities please contact:

Linda Dudek
Director of Development
Haskayne School of Business

Kendall McKenzie
Alumni Engagement Special Projects Officer
Haskayne School of Business