University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Research Seminars 2010/2011

Submitted by yayoi.moriguchi on Mon, 04/27/2015 - 3:49pm

2010

Friday October 1

Dr. Douglas Gale
Department of Economics
New York University
Bankruptcy, Finance Constraints and the Value of the Firm
11:00am-12:30pm, Room SH278


2011

Thursday January 13

Michael Nowotny
UCLA
Disaster Begets Crisis
11:00am - 12:30pm, Room SH 462


Friday January 21

Shubo Wang
Sauder Business School
University of British Columbia
Incomplete Information and Asset Returns in Real Business Cycle Economies
3:00pm - 4:30pm, Room SH 465


Wednesday January 26

Zhongzhi Song
Sauder Business School
University of British Columbia
Asset Growth and Idiosuncratic Return Volatility
3:00pm -4:30pm, Room SH 462


Friday February 4

Robert Ready
Wharton School of Business
University of Pennsylvanic
Oil Prices and Long-Run Risks
3:00pm - 4:30pm, Room SH 462


Friday March 4

Kyoung Jin Choi
Department of Economics
Washington University in St. Louis
Mirrlees Meets Modigliani-Miller: Optimal Taxation and Capital Structure
3:00pm - 4:30pm, Room SH 268


Friday March 11

Dr. Burton Hollifield
Tepper School of Business
Carnegie Mellon University
The Role of Mortgage Brokers in the Subprime Crisis
11:00am-12:30pm, Room SH 462


Friday March 18

Dr. Jonathan Berk
Graduate School of Business
Stanford University
Limited Capital Market Participation and Human Capital Risk
11:00am-12:30pm, Room SH 462


Friday March 25

Dr. John E. Parsons
MIT
Stocks & Shocks: A Clarification in the Debate Over Price vs. Quantity Controls for Greenhouse Gases
 11:00am-12:30pm, Room SH 310 (RBC Room)


Friday April 1

Dr. Ohad Kadan
Olin School of Business
Washington University in St. Louis
Liquidity Cycles and Make/Take Fees in Electronic Markets
11:00am-12:30pm, Room SH 462


Friday April 15

Dr. Christopher Telmer
Tepper School of Business
Carnegie Mellon University
Monetary Policy and the Uncovered Interest Parity Puzzle
11:00am-12:30pm, Room SH 462


Friday April 29

Dr. Martin Boyer
HEC Montreal
Is Corporate Governance Risk Valued? Evidence from Directors' and Officers' Insurance* 
10:00am -11:30am, Room SH 280


Monday May 30

Dr.Walid Busaba
Richard Ivey School of Business
University of Western Ontario
"Market Volatility and the Timing of IPO Filings"
11:00 AM - 12:30 PM, Room SH 462