Previous Recipients

Distinguished Business Leader Award


Visit Haskayne’s YouTube channel to watch videos from our recent Distinguished Business Award galas.


  • Dr. Chen Fong (2021), Co-Founder, Pureweb Inc.
  • The 2020 Distinguished Business Leaders Summit was hosted in place of the DBLA awards and gala due to COVID-19.  
  • Michael Culbert  (2019), Vice Chairman, PETRONAS Energy Canada Ltd.
  • Guy J. Turcotte (2018), Founder, President and CEO, Stone Creek Resorts Inc.
  • Leslie O'Donoghue (2017), Executive Vice President Corporate Development & Strategy and Chief Risk Officer, Agrium Inc.
  • Sam Kolias (2016), Chairman & CEO, Boardwalk Rental Communities
  • Ronald N. Mannix (2015), Founder and Director, Coril Holdings Ltd.
  • Mac Van Wielingen (2014), Chairman, ARC Resources and ARC Financial
  • Alan Norris (2013), President and CEO, Brookfield Residential Properties Inc.
  • Susan Riddell Rose (2012), President and CEO, Perpetual Energy Inc.
  • Rick George (2011), President and CEO, Suncor Energy Inc.
  • Hal Kvisle (2010), President and CEO, TransCanada Corporation
  • Patrick Daniel (2009), President and CEO, Enbridge Inc.
  • George Brookman (2008), CEO and Owner, West Canadian
  • Mike Tims (2007), Chairman, Peters & Co.
  • Harley Hotchkiss (2006), Chairman, NHL Board of Governors
  • Linda Hohol (2005), President, TSX Venture Exchange
  • Charlie Fischer (2004), President and CEO, Nexen Inc.
  • Clive Beddoe (2003), Chairman, President and CEO, WestJet Airlines Ltd.
  • John Forzani (2002), Founder, Chairman and CEO, The Forzani Group Ltd.
  • David O’Brien (2001), Chairman, President and CEO, Canadian Pacific Ltd.
  • Brian MacNeill (2000), Chairman, Petro-Canada
  • James Gray (1999), Chairman, Canadian Hunter Exploration Ltd.
  • J.R. (Bud) McCaig (1998), Chairman, Trimac Corporation
  • Richard Haskayne OC, AOE, FCA (1997), Chairman of the Board, NOVA Corporation
  • Robert Brawn (1996), President and CEO, Danoil Energy Ltd.
  • Alfred Balm (1995), Chairman of the Board, Emergo Canada Ltd.
  • David Mitchell, OC (1994), President and CEO, Alberta Energy Company Ltd.
  • John Currie (1993), President, Alberta Arts Stabilization Fund