

# DISTINGUISHED BUSINESS LEADER AWARD

June 23, 2022

## CONTACT:

Bea Ewanchuk

Associate Director, Development

Haskayne School of Business

403.390.1388

bea.ewanchuk@haskayne.ucalgary.ca

Nicole Claiter

Manager, Events and Sponsorship

Calgary Chamber

403.750.0409

nclaiter@calgarychamber.com

Presented by:



UNIVERSITY OF CALGARY HASKAYNE SCHOOL OF BUSINESS



#### DISTINGUISHED BUSINESS LEADER AWARD



Strong, ethical business leaders build organizations, communities and cities. Calgary has a rich legacy of leaders who have made a difference by delivering on a vision with an unwavering commitment to the community they serve. It is these leaders that make Calgary a place we are proud to call home.

The Distinguished Business Leader Award (DBLA) honours these leaders. We seek out individuals who demonstrate ethical leadership, sound business sense and commitment to building a better community. Although many of these leaders do not seek the spotlight, we believe that it is important to celebrate ethical leadership. Through their example, Calgarians are inspired to grow, engage and continue to develop Calgary – our shared home.

Funds raised through the annual DBLA gala support the development of future leaders through endowed scholarships awarded to Haskayne undergraduate students who reflect a commitment to ethical leadership. A portion of the gala proceeds also support our city's new entrepreneurs through the Emerging Entrepreneur scholarship presented by the Calgary Chamber.

We believe that celebrating ethical leadership is essential to ensuring the development and growth of Calgary and the surrounding areas into the mid-21st century. Join us in recognizing ethical leadership through sponsorship of the Distinguished Business Leader Award. Ask us about the benefits and levels of sponsorship.

We look forward to working with you to inspire the best possible leadership in our city.

Best regards,

Jim Dewald

Dean, Haskayne School of Business

Deborah Yedlin

President and CEO, Calgary Chamber

#### **BENEFITS**

You can recognize outstanding ethical leadership in the Calgary business community and support the next generation of business leaders. We invite you and your organization to partner with us and enrich the legacy of ethical leadership in Calgary.

By sponsoring the Distinguished Business Leader Award you will:

- Highlight your company as an organization that values ethical leadership
- Align your organization with our remarkable award recipients
- Connect with a progressive network of community members committed to ethical leadership
- Support business students and young entrepreneurs

Please consider further strengthening the connection between your organization and the Distinguished Business Leader Award through a multi-year partnership.

# DISTINGUISHED BUSINESS LEADER AWARD



# SPONSORSHIP LEVELS

Sponsor Benefits	Gala Sponsor \$30,000 (max 1)	<b>Gold Sponsor</b> \$20,000 (max 2)	\$10,000 (max 10)	Reception Sponsor \$15,000 (max 1)
Exclusive lead sponsorship recognition	•			
Personalized company message to the DBLA recipient in the printed gala program	•			
Opportunity to address DBLA gala attendees at the event	•			
Recognition on Haskayne School of Business donor wall	•			
Tickets to a Calgary Chamber event (Valid for event tickets up to maximum \$150 per ticket)	4	4	4	4
Pre-event logo recognition as the gala/gold/ silver/reception sponsor in event promotion via web, email, social media and print	•	•	•	•
Logo recognition at the gala event in the printed program, signage and on-screen presentation	•	•	•	•
Post-event logo recognition of your sponsor status via web, email, social media and print	•	•	•	•
Preferential table placement at the DBLA gala dinner	Gala seating area	<ul><li>Gold seating area</li><li>2 seats at the head table</li></ul>	Silver seating area	Silver seating area
Special mention during the DBLA gala program	•	•	•	•
Tickets to the DBLA gala dinner	30	12	10	10
Company logo/name displayed on your table at the gala	logo	logo	logo	logo
Tax receiptable contribution to the DBLA scholarship fund**	optional	optional	optional	optional
Announcements during reception acknowledging sponsorship				•

Pending promotional deadlines
 Tax receipts are not permitted where corporate logo recognition is received

#### DISTINGUISHED BUSINESS LEADER AWARD



#### SELECTION COMMITTEE

Leslie O'Donoghue

Chair, DBLA Selection Committee Distinguished Business Leader Award recipient (2017)

Mike Broadfoot

Principal, MGB Investments

Marie Delorme

CEO, The Imagination Group

Jim Dewald

Dean, Haskayne School of Business

Jim Dinning

Chancellor Emeritus, University of Calgary

Eva Friesen

President and CEO, The Calgary Foundation

Elise Harden

Executive Project Coordinator, DHR International

Nannette Ho-Covernton

Sustainability Leader, Spartan Controls

Ian Minnifee

Partner, Sagium

Sue Riddell Rose

President and CEO, Perpetual Energy Distinguished Business Leader Award recipient (2012)

Shahauna Siddiqui

Partner, DHR International Selection Sponsor

Deborah Yedlin

President and CEO, Calgary Chamber Chancellor, University of Calgary

THE LEGACY

Connect to the **Haskayne School of Business** to see full profiles of many of the past recipients.

2021 Dr. Chen Fong

Co-Founder, Pureweb Inc.

2020 No recipient due to COVID-19

2019 Michael Culbert

Vice Chairman, PETRONAS Energy Canada Ltd.

2018 Guy J. Turcotte

Founder, President and CEO Stone Creek Resorts

2017 Leslie O'Donoghue

Executive Vice President Corporate Development and Strategy and Chief Risk Officer, Agrium Inc.

2016 Sam Kolias

Chairman and CEO, Boardwalk REIT

2015 Ronald N. Mannix, OC, AOE

Chairman and Director, Coril Holdings Ltd.

2014 Mac Van Wielingen

Chairman, ARC Financial Corp. and ARC Resources Ltd.

2013 Alan Norris

President and CEO, Brookfield Residential Properties Inc.

2012 Susan Riddell Rose

President and CEO, Perpetual Energy Inc.

2011 Rick George

President and CEO, Suncor Energy Inc.

2010 Hal Kvisle

President and CEO, TransCanada Corporation

2009 Patrick Daniel

President and CEO Enbridge Inc.

2008 George Brookman

CEO and Owner, West Canadian

2007 Mike Tims

Chairman, Peters & Co. Limited

2006 Harley Hotchkiss

Chairman, NHL Board of Governors

2005 Linda Hohol

President, TSX Venture Exchange

2004 Charlie Fischer

President and CEO, Nexen Inc.

2003 Clive Beddoe

Chairman President and CEO WestJet Airlines Ltd.

2002 John Forzani

Founder, Chairman and CEO, The Forzani Group Ltd.

2001 David O'Brien

Chairman, President and CEO, Canadian Pacific Ltd.

2000 Brian MacNeill

Chairman, Petro-Canada

1999 James Grav

Chairman, Canadian Hunter Exploration Ltd.

1998 J.R. (Bud) McCaig

Chairman, Trimac Corporation

1997 Richard Haskayne, OC, AOE, FCA

Chairman of the Board, NOVA

Corporation

1996 Robert Brawn

President and CEO, Danoil Energy Ltd.

1995 Alfred Balm

Chairman of the Board, Emergo Canada Ltd.

1994 David Mitchell, OC

President and CEO, Alberta Energy Company Ltd.

1993 John Currie

President, Alberta Arts Stabilization Fund

# PARTNERS AND SPONSORS:

#### Gala Partner:



#### **Selection Partner:**



### **DEVELOPMENT TEAM CONTACTS:**

#### Bea Ewanchuk

Associate Director of Development Haskayne School of Business 403.390.1388 bea.ewanchuk@haskayne.ucalgary.ca

#### Nicole Claiter

Manager, Events and Sponsorship Calgary Chamber 403.750.0409 nclaiter@calgarychamber.com



