Inspiring Business Leader Award

Previous Recipients

Inspiring Business Leader Award

The Inspiring Business Leader Award presents a refreshing view on leadership in our evolving city. We will recognize a recipient who is inspired in their leadership, personal and professional accomplishments, commitment to community and business acumen. We hope you will join us in celebration!

Visit Haskayne’s YouTube channel to watch videos from our recent Distinguished Business Award galas.

Dawn Farrell

Dawn Farrell (2023)

President and CEO, Trans Mountain Corporation

Wayne Chiu

Wayne Chiu (2022)

Founder and CEO, Trico Group, Founder, Trico Foundation

Andrea Robertson

Andrea Robertson (2022)

President and Chief Executive Officer, STARS

Dr. Chen Fong

Dr. Chen Fong (2021)

Co-Founder, Pureweb Inc.

The 2020 Distinguished Business Leaders Summit 

was hosted in place of the DBLA awards and gala

due to COVID-19.

Michael Culbert

Michael Culbert (2019)

Vice Chairman, PETRONAS Energy Canada Ltd.

Guy J. Turcotte

Guy J. Turcotte (2018)

Founder, President and CEO, Stone Creek Resorts Inc.

Leslie O'Donoghue

Leslie O'Donoghue (2017)

Executive Vice President Corporate Development & Strategy and Chief Risk Officer, Agrium Inc.

Sam Kolias

Sam Kolias (2016)

Chairman & CEO, Boardwalk Rental Communities

Ronald N. Mannix

Ronald N. Mannix (2015)

Founder and Director, Coril Holdings Ltd.

Mac Van Wielingen

Mac Van Wielingen (2014)

Chairman, ARC Resources and ARC Financial

Alan Norris

Alan Norris (2013)

President and CEO, Brookfield Residential Properties Inc.

Susan Riddell Rose

Susan Riddell Rose (2012)

President and CEO, Perpetual Energy Inc.

Rick George

Rick George (2011)

President and CEO, Suncor Energy Inc.

Hal Kvisle

Hal Kvisle (2010)

President and CEO, TransCanada Corporation

Patrick Daniel

Patrick Daniel (2009)

President and CEO, Enbridge Inc.

George Brookman

George Brookman (2008)

CEO and Owner, West Canadian

Mike Tims

Michael J. (Mike) Tims, CM, LLD (Hon) (2007)

Chairman, Peters & Co.

Harley Hotchkiss

Harley Hotchkiss (2006)

Chairman, NHL Board of Governors

Linda Hohol

Linda Hohol (2005)

President, TSX Venture Exchange

Charlie Fischer

Charlie Fischer (2014)

President and CEO, Nexen Inc.

Clive Beddoe

Clive Beddoe (2003)

Chairman, President and CEO, WestJet Airlines Ltd.

John Forzani

John Forzani (2002)

Founder, Chairman and CEO, The Forzani Group Ltd.

David O'Brien

David O’Brien (2001)

Chairman, President and CEO, Canadian Pacific Ltd.

Brian MacNeill

Brian MacNeill (2000)

Chairman, Petro-Canada

James Gray

James Gray (1999)

Chairman, Canadian Hunter Exploration Ltd.

J.R. (Bud) McCaig

J.R. (Bud) McCaig (1998)

Chairman, Trimac Corporation

Richard Haskayne

Richard Haskayne OC, AOE, FCA (1997)

Chairman of the Board, NOVA Corporation

Robert Brawn

Robert Brawn (1996)

President and CEO, Danoil Energy Ltd.

Alfred Balm

Alfred Balm (1995)

Chairman of the Board, Emergo Canada Ltd.

David Mitchell, OC

David Mitchell, OC (1994)

President and CEO, Alberta Energy Company Ltd.

John Currie

John Currie (1993)

President, Alberta Arts Stabilization Fund